SO TELL ME WHY, TELL ME WHY, WE’RE DIVIDED?

10 I appeal to you, dear brothers and sisters, by the authority of our Lord Jesus Christ, to live in harmony with each other. Let there be no divisions in the church. Rather, be of one mind, united in thought and purpose. 11 For some members of Chloe’s household have told me about your quarrels, my dear brothers and sisters. 12 Some of you are saying, “I am a follower of Paul.” Others are saying, “I follow Apollos,” or “I follow Peter,” or “I follow only Christ.” 13 Has Christ been divided into factions? Was I, Paul, crucified for you? Were any of you baptized in the name of Paul? Of course not!

1 Corinthians chapter 10, verses 10-13 from the New Living Translation

Today’s title is from a line in a song by contemporary artist Mandisa. The name of the song is We All Bleed The Same. (Click here to listen to the song) Everyone’s blood is red. However, it seems our culture has forgotten this simple truth. Some think others blood is blue or red; progressive or orthodox; American or foreigner; black or white or some other color; educated or uneducated. And the list goes on an nauseam. It’s this kind of stinking thinking that is literally shattering this nation and the world.

So, tell me why, tell me why, we’re divided? Well, since you asked me, I’ll tell you why. People are looking inward rather than upward. Even those who say they are following Jesus are not exempt from this cancer. The world was in an evolutionary direction–meaning we were able to achieve more and greater things. But instead of evolving, our culture is devolving in a cauldron of something between swamp water and what you see in a septic tank. All of this is happening before our eyes because so many have turned their thoughts and desires inwardly rather than upwardly.

In an attempt to add value to their lives, people have become selfish, egotistical, pompous, narcissistic, puffed-up, and vainglorious monsters. And look at the mess this descent has made. But before I sound like Chicken Little proclaiming that the sky is falling–there is a way out of this hot mess. And it’s really simple–as are all principles of the Bible. Care more for others than you care about yourself. It doesn’t take a large mass of people doing this simultaneously–all it takes is one person. And that one person is you.

Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose. Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.

Philippians chapter 2, verses 2 through 4; from the New Living Translation