Are Missional Communities a Threat to the Local Church?

How refreshing to see another pastor understand how God is calling us back to our true roots–community with God, fellow disciples, and in the neighborhoods! I encourage you to read all of Keith’s posts about Missional Communities…

The Light Breaks Through

lightstock_203698_download_medium_byrene_haney_Missional communities continue to be an instrument by which we can live out what it means to be a missional church in the 21st Century.- Keith Haney

 The new standard for information, Wikipedia, defines “missional communities” this way:

“A Missional community is a group of people, about the size of an extended family, who are united through Christian community around a common service and witness to a particular neighborhood or network of relationships.”

I have to admit that is not a bad definition.  One congregation that has a robust mission community philosophy has the following as their definition and vision.  This plan comes from Christianity Today.

“What is a “missional community”?

 A community of Christ followers, on mission with God in obedience to the Holy Spirit that demonstrates and declares the Gospel of Jesus Christ to a particular people group.

Missional

  • They are committed to having spiritual conversations that…

View original post 529 more words

2 thoughts on “Are Missional Communities a Threat to the Local Church?

Add yours

  1. Great post.
    I live in a community that on one side is dominated by a mega-church but also has smaller churches. I think both serve a vital function in reaching the lost and serving the needs of the community.
    On a personal note after attending the big church for a number of years I grew tremendously in my walk with the Lord during that time) we began attending a smaller community church. I felt a need to be more involved in my local community and it has opened a lot of doors to serve in ways I could not in the big church.
    I will always be grateful for the discipleship and teaching at my former church and look forward to this next season in our walk with the Lord.
    I am honored that you would follow my blog. I pray you find encouragement there.
    Cliff Craig

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

