Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!

We have always heard it said, “Make good choices.”  But this axiom may not be one we want to use to model our life.  Am I suggesting we make “bad choices”?  Not at all, but what if it looks like both choices are good?  The choices we make today will have an impact on us; if not immediately then definitely down the road.  Pardon me, maybe I should let you in on where I am.

Where I serve in the Kingdom recently decided to make some staff changes IF the right person could be found.  We have a part-time administrative assistant to handle the day-to-day things and another person taking care of our financial records, but remotely thanks to this thing called the Internet.  Our Team given the responsibility for staffing decided to merge both positions into a full-time on-site position.  It is a great decision because we are going to change our membership and accounting software and we need to have someone “in-house” to take over these duties.

After listing our position in several ways, we received several resumes.  From our Team, I along with 2 others, were selected to be the interview Team and report back our recommendation.  The result is that both applicants interviewed great and either one has the potential to be just who we need and God wants.  One member of the interview Team leans toward one of the applicants and the other Team member leans toward the other applicant.  Vote is 1-1, so now it falls on me to be the Tie Breaker.  No pressure here, really, there is no pressure.  All 3 of us agree that either one would be an asset and both assured me that whatever my decision, they are good with it.  The 3 of us definitely have a high level of trust between us.

This has me to thinking about choices.  I must make a choice.  Now if one would be a bad choice and the other one a good choice, then my choice is simple and easy.  Now I must decide what is good and what is best and the line between the two is not very clear, at least to me.  So I have been doing a lot of praying, asking others to pray for discernment for me.  I can’t put off my choice, and thus our recommendation to the rest of the Team.

And this morning it has me thinking and thus I am writing.  Oh, there’s an irony that I haven’t shared with you.  Sunday I am beginning a new series of messages and guess what they are about?  The importance of our decisions and how they impact our lives individually and collectively as community, family and especially as the Body of Christ.  Now I am living out this series of messages.

Here’s the thing, what we are and who we are in the moment is the direct results of all of our choices.  Decisions shape and form what we are and who we are becoming.  Sometimes we make the wrong decision, choose the wrong option.  Like that rich young man who came to Jesus seeking that lasting and enduring life who opted for physical wealth rather than spiritual treasures.

In reflecting over my life, I sense that many times I made the good choice, but NOT the best choice.  How many times have we heeded the counsel that said, “Come on!  Do something even if it’s wrong!  Just do something!”  Every decision we make, each choice you make, is shaping who you are.  So we need to be deliberate in the process of making decisions.  Quick decisions are often called “Rash” decisions.

I find it rather humorous that we call them “Rash” decisions.  A “Rash” typically develops when our body doesn’t like what it has been exposed to; you know, like poison ivy or poison oak.  That rash becomes a source of great discomfort and then rather annoying.  Here’s what I am thinking:  How many times has our spirit become infected (not affected) with something that is contrary to its design and purpose?

3331437207_86c053b95a

This pic says it all.  Choices impact our lives, but they also impact the lives of those around us.  I realize that often things happen to us that are beyond our  control.  People can do things to us that hurt and are definitely unfair.  Beyond our control!  But we still have a choice and that choice is in how we respond to what has happened.

When the choices are something bad or something good, then it is easy to see how they affect our lives and the lives of people around us.  But how many choices have we made that would be considered “good” choices, but not the “best” choice.  Over my 43 years as being a pastor I have seen a great tragedy–people accepting the “good” choice over the “best” choice.  The accumulation of good choices has a consequence.  We call it mediocrity.

Your everyday decisions are influencing not only your present moment, but your future as well.  This is why we need to make the best decision and the best decisions always come when we invite our Heavenly Father into the deliberations.  His desire for us is not to experience the good life, but the best life.  Back to my dilemma.  At the very onset of this quest, the Team made a very wise choice.  We were not going to simply hire a warm body, someone to do the work.  It had to be the right person, the person God would provide for us.  I am thinking about 2 very godly people right now, and I cannot know which godly person God sent us, until I ask Him and listen to what He tells me.

Personally, I wish God will put up a lighted billboard with a flashing arrow sign pointing to the answer.  He probably won’t do that; He has ignored that request from me in the past.  So I will seek and then listen, because THE Father Knows Best!  Love God with all your heart.  Love others the way Jesus loves you.  And make sure all the glory goes to Him.  And it will when you make the best decisions, and best decisions always come from the heart and mind of our Creator!

5840ca9163571.image

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!

Add yours

  1. I loved this blog. However, I do wonder why we are programmed to believe there can only be one best choice or selection or answer in life. Could it also be that at times, if our Lord endorses us then permits he will make any choice we make succeed, not because of our decision, but because of who we are in Him? …”Trust the Lord in all your ways…”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

