God Bless America? Really?

Why I Will Not Say It, And Maybe Why You Would Not Want To Say It

bless america2

(Warning:  Due to the mature subject matter, some may find this post offensive.  Therefore, viewer discretion is advised before reading it all the way through)

     I have made a prayerful and very intentional decision to stop saying “God Bless America”.  I am not demanding, suggesting or even hinting that you should do the same.  This is a decision I have made out of deep reflection and conviction because I am first a Kingdom Citizen, and second a Kingdom Pastor.  Before you label me something I clearly am not, please read my opening lines in a previous blog, The Americanization Of The Gospel.  This particular blog has been working its way through my heart and mind for some time and at first I wasn’t going to write it, but I kept coming back to it.  I wondered why I was reluctant to frame these words and it hit me.  I was “concerned” that someone might misinterpret or downright dislike these thoughts.  It was then I realized that I must write.  So here goes…

     I have many reasons why it has become difficult, actually downright impossible for me to think, write or say the words “God Bless America”.  (Even now as I type this phrase, I am very uncomfortable.)  When I say “God Bless America”, now this is me and I am certainly not asking you to feel this way, I feel like I am asking God to bless things that are not a reflection of Him; that do not honor Him; and certainly does not represent the life that He calls all of us to live.  I believe that I am asking God to bless a culture that is the antithesis of the Kingdom of God.  One of my deepest concerns about Christians in the U.S. is that we have made patriotism and our Discipleship equal.  Or we have done something even more sinister–we have replaced being Disciples with being Patriotic–that somehow they are one and the same.  They are not.  I am patriotic and I am a Disciple but being a Disciple trumps being patriotic every time.

     When I say, “God Bless America”, I feel like I am asking Him to bless a culture that is most often selfish, and this selfishness reveals itself in so many ways.  Some live with a sense of entitlement.  Others live like they are victims of anything and everything, and as such diminishes the pain of real victims.  Some live without regard for the consequences of their choices, words and actions.  Some live thinking that the values of the Kingdom of God are outdated.  Some live with hatred and anger in their hearts.  Our political system is corrupted to the max.  Self serving is esteemed higher than self-sacrifice.  And I could go on and on.  This is what I feel like I am asking God to bless because these attitudes and so much other “stuff” have become deeply entrenched in the American culture.  And deep down in my heart, I know that God would never bless any of this mess we have created.  I feel like I am asking God to change His mind about His Plans and Mission in the world.

     I also see this as symptomatic of another issue–our prayers to ask God to bless other things we do as Disciples.  I wonder if some people need to ask for God’s blessing as a sign that He approves their plans, at the cost of His plans.   Again, this is me thinking to myself–but should I have to ask God to bless the things I do IF I am doing the things God wants me to do?  I am not even suggesting or thinking that we should presume anything about the blessings of God.  But this verse has been in my heart and mind for some time.  It’s from John 13:17 (NLT)…

Now that you know these things, God will bless you for doing them.

     These words of Jesus come on the heels of one of His top 5 most incredible acts when He walked His creation as one of those He created.  Jesus had just washed the feet of a group of disciples knowing that one would betray Him, another would deny knowing Him, and the rest would abandon Him.  He had set the pattern for what it would mean for them in the future, and for us today, to be a real disciple of His in this fallen and messed up world.  It would be a life of self-surrender to something much bigger than themselves and a life of self-sacrifice where following Him any day and every day would cost us something.

     When we make a personal vow and commitment to a life of self-surrender and self-sacrifice to the Kingdom of God, the blessing comes without us ever asking for it.  I am not
being arrogant or presumptive with this statement.  I am simply trusting in the promise of Jesus.  bless america3And in this profoundly simple act of trusting, I am absolutely blown away by the power and depth of His grace and mercy to me; that God would use for His Honor and Glory, someone like myself.  And I find myself blessed beyond words–and I never asked God to bless what I was doing.  I simply “left my boat immediately” and followed Him.  Rather than seeking a blessing for what we are doing (or for who we are, Americans), let’s walk into those places and situations where God is already blessing.  Let’s walk into those places and situations where God is wanting to bless because people are needing to experience life as He intends and as only HE can provide.  However, if you still feel the need to ask God to bless what you or your church is doing, could it be you are asking God to accept something less than what He calls us to be and do?  I cannot answer for you but as for me, I will do whatever God wants, wherever God wants it done, and whenever He wants to do it.  I know I will still miss this mark sometimes, but it doesn’t change my aim.  Just because I miss the target doesn’t me I change the targets; I change ME by changing how I think, feel and what I do!

     At the age of 60 I am finding out that I have learned much more about God and His Kingdom in the last 5 years than I learned in the first 55 years, and am looking forward to learning even more.  And one of the things that He has taught me is that I do not have to plead or beg or even ask for His blessing.  All I need to do is to be where He is blessing and where He wants to bless.  Truth is, God is not blessing this nation–but He is blessing wherever people are committed to and living in something much bigger than themselves–The Kingdom Of God.  You will not hear me say “God Bless America”, but you will find me where God IS blessing and wants to bless people, and situations with His love, grace and tender mercies.

     Please remember that this is ME, how I am thinking and feeling.  I’m not asking you to agree with me.  And I am certainly not asking you to join with me.  This is how I feel.  What about you?  How do you feel about this?  Share your thoughts in the comments section below.  Love God with all your heart, love others the way God loves you, and make sure all the glory goes to HIM!

2 thoughts on “God Bless America? Really?

Add yours

  1. Hi Pastor Randy– Well I agree and disagree. Now, I am not a Pastor or a theologian, but I have learned more about the Kingdom of God in the last few years also as deeper revelations are coming forth. Yes, He will bless those who seek Him in a deeper, intimate relationship. He is calling forth His sons who have been hidden for a time such as this. But just as Abraham who walked with God as a friend pleaded with the Lord for Sodom and Gomorrah saying “what if there are 50 righteous, will You still destroy it?” and he continued to plead down to 10 people, we should just as Abraham did, plead for this country. We should ask Him to bless this country, not for the immorality and unrighteousness that is abundant, but for the righteous who still reside here, for the forefathers who started this country with God’s guidance, for those who have gone before us and are now in His cloud of witnesses, and for the multitude of seeds that have been sown from this country for His Kingdom throughout this world… all while we pray for Him to turn the hearts of the multitude back to Him. Yes, the Kingdom of God is at hand and more are becoming Kingdom-minded, but we should not stop praying for blessings for this country. We should continue to seek His will for this country which He has planned since the beginning of time and go before His Throne in repentance for the sins of our ancestors and this country, as we pray for His continued Hand of protection and provision over this country. As part of His Kingdom, we need to remember the Power of the spoken word and speak blessings upon all things as well as James 5:16, “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” We are mandated by God to walk as Christ walked, praying for those in need… and my dear brother, this country and many of its citizen are in need. God bless you!

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing your heart. There really is nothing I could say against what you said. Every day I do intercede for our nation and pray that our nation would turn back to God. And thank you for the most gracious ways of disagreeing with my view. It just goes to show that we can disagree without being disagreeable. Blessings and peace to you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

